Skip to main content
All CollectionsHealth Fund Claims - AU OnlyManaging Claims in Australia
How to cancel a health fund claim - AU πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί
How to cancel a health fund claim - AU πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί

Deleting/Cancelling a health fund claim for Australian practices πŸ‡¦πŸ‡Ί

Amber Morris avatar
Written by Amber Morris
Updated over a week ago

How to cancel a Health Fund claim

  • Navigate to the patient's 'Account' tab.

  • Under Payments locate the claim you wish to cancel.

  • Click the 'Cancel' 🚫 icon on the right-hand-side of the claim.

  • This will open the claim screen, where you can then click 'Cancel Claim'

screenshot of the claim view with the cancel claim button highlighted.

πŸ“ Please note: If the claim is cancelled on the same day it was processed, you will be prompted to cancel the claim electronically after clicking 'Cancel Claim'.

The process will differ from here, and we instead encourage you to read more about cancelling claims electronically below.

  • A 'cancellation' line will appear against the claim on the patient's 'Account' tab to reflect this change.

  • After completing the cancellation, if this WAS NOT sent to your terminal, you MUST contact Hicaps/Tyro to cancel the claim with the Health Fund.


Can I cancel my Health Fund claim electronically

You can ONLY electronically cancel a claim if the cancellation is processed on the same day it was created. Follow the above instructions to process a cancellation.

After clicking 'Cancel Claim', You will be required to swipe the patient's health fund card through the terminal again when processing this electronically.

Once processing an electronic cancellation the following will occur:

  • The claim payment will be automatically deleted from the patient's 'account' tab.

  • The claim cancellation will be recorded on the patient's 'Claims' tab to ensure a full audit trail of the claim in question.

screenshot of the patients claims screen showing the cancelled claim line.

​


Why can't I delete my Health Fund claim

Health fund claims CANNOT be deleted until they have been cancelled.

This is to ensure there is always a clear audit trail for practices to review if required and is especially handy if a patient has a query in regards to their claiming history or benefits.

As a result, the usual bin icon that appears on unexplained payments does not appear on any claim payment lines. Instead, this is replaced with a 'Cancel' 🚫 icon.

take payment claims


How do you delete health fund claim payments?

To delete a claim payment, you must first have cancelled 🚫 the claim following the instructions above and un-explained any payments using the 'Link' πŸ”— icon.

After this, you can delete the cancelled claim payments by clicking on the 'Delete' πŸ—‘οΈ icon.

All cancelled claims are associated with two payments:

  • The initial claim amount.

  • The reversal claim cancellation amount.

🚨 It's important to note that deleting one payment will trigger the deletion of both payments associated with the cancelled claim.

After clicking the delete icon, you will be prompted with the below message, where you will need to click 'Delete' again to confirm this action.

screenshot to show the prompted message when deleting a claim payment from the account screen.

Once this is complete, the payments on the patient's 'Account' tab will be removed permanently. However, a record of the claim will remain on the patient's 'Claims' tab.


How do you adjust cancelled claim payments?

If further adjustments are required against a cancelled claim - such as needing to delete the claim payment or needing to make changes to the invoice that is locked- you must first unexplain the payment from the invoice. To do this you can:

  • Navigate to the patient's 'Account' tab.

  • Locate the payment in question and click the 'Unlink' icon πŸ”— to the right of the payment.

  • This will unexplain (unlink) the claim payment from the invoice.

  • You can then either delete the payment if needed or re-open the treatment and adjust the invoice.

  • Remember, if the invoice is to be charged back through, you need to make sure to re-explain the payments accordingly to ensure accurate transaction history and reporting!

Did this answer your question?